Chief Executive Officer
Mark Cox

As Big Brothers Big Sisters of Long Island’s Chief Executive Officer, Mark Cox guides the agency’s vision and mission, leading nearly 100 employees including BBBSLI’s Mentoring Agency and the BBBSLI Donation Center. For over a decade, Mr. Cox has been an instrumental part of the agency’s leadership, first as Chief Development Officer followed by his current position of CEO.

Since becoming CEO in 2013, the agency has experienced consistent growth in staff size as well as the number of children served by BBBSLI’s mentoring programs. This growth has been achieved by increasing the number of Community Based matches as well as expanding the agency’s Site Based programs. Under his leadership, the agency currently has five High School Bigs Programs, three College Based Programs and two Workplace Programs.

He has also implemented strategies responsible for a 300% increase in the Donation Center’s net profits, of which 100% of the net proceeds go directly towards supporting the mentoring program.

As CEO, Mr. Cox has developed the agency’s Board of Directors by working closely with its members on the vision for the agency’s future growth and success. This has included the formation of a diversity committee, the development of a detailed strategic plan as well as the implementation of investment strategies to grow the agency’s funds.

Mr. Cox is also actively involved with Big Brothers Big Sisters of America (BBBSA), serving in his second year as a member of the National Leadership Committee. He also serves as co-chair of BBBSA’s Partnership Development Committee.

Prior to Big Brothers Big Sisters of Long Island, Mr. Cox worked as the Associate Director of Athletics for External Affairs at Hofstra University. He graduated from Hofstra University with a BBA in Marketing in 1992 and earned a Master of Science and Education with distinction in 2001. Mr. Cox also played four years of football and lacrosse and was recipient of the 1991 Iron Mike Award which is presented to the best collegiate football player on Long Island.

Mr. Cox is a member of Molloy College’s Energeia Partnership Leadership Academy, Class of 2019, which is dedicated to identifying and addressing the serious, complex and multi-dimensional issues challenging the Long Island region. His additional memberships include the Edward Smith Mineola Lion’s Club and the Executive Business Association. He resides in Westbury with his wife, Teri, and has two children Kirstin and Tyler.

Leadership Team

Helen Liriano

Chief Financial Officer

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 224
hliriano@bbbsli.org

Meredith Michaels

Chief Development Officer

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 232
mmichaels@bbbsli.org

Fabiola Turner

Director of Programs

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 218
fturner@bbbsli.org

Carmelina Vassallo

Director of Human Resources

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 207
cvassallo@bbbsli.org

Managers

Lauren Laurore

Program Manager

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 219
llaurore@bbbsli.org

Lisa Kratter

Enrollment  Program Manager

(631)  273-1469 Ext. 220

lkratter@bbbsli.org

Staff

Lucy Brito

Match Support Specialist

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 211
lbrito@bbbsli.org

Rebecca Kornell

Enrollment Specialist

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 226
rkornell@bbbsli.org

Shedley Polynice

Match Support Specialist

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 216
spolynice@bbbsli.org

Herbert Eric Schramm

Community Recruitment  Specialist

(631) 273-1469 x 236
hschramm@bbbsli.org

Crystal Hamilton

Customer Relations Specialist

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 221
chamilton@bbbsli.org

Mary Joya

Mary Joya

Match Support Specialist

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 203
mjoya@bbbsli.org

Gabriella Ramirez

Senior Enrollment Specialist

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 234
gramirez@bbbsli.org

Emilia Souza

Enrollment Specialist

(631) 273-1469  ext. 228
esouza@bbbsli.org

Danielle Taylor

Marketing & Event Specialist

(516) 731-7880 ext. 222
dtaylor@bbbsli.org

Carrie Thorne headshot

Carrie Thorne

Grant Writer

(516) 243-3274
cthorne@bbbsli.org

We can Change their World