DONATE NOW

Staff

Chief Executive Officer

Mark Cox

As Big Brothers Big Sisters of Long Island’s Chief Executive Officer, Mark Cox guides the agency’s vision and mission, leading nearly 100 employees including BBBSLI and the BBBSLI Donation Center. For the last decade, Mr. Cox has been an instrumental part of the agency’s leadership, first as Chief Development Officer followed by his current position of CEO.

Since becoming CEO in 2013, the agency staff has grown to 20 employees and the number of children served by the mentoring program has increased each year, with over 24% growth in 2016. This growth has been achieved by the expansion of existing site-based programs as well as increasing the number of community-based matches. Under his leadership, the agency has also added four new High School Bigs Programs, three College Based Programs and three Workplace Programs.

He has also implemented strategies responsible for a 300% increase in the Donation Center’s net profits, of which 100% of the net proceeds go directly towards supporting the mentoring program.

As CEO, Mr. Cox has developed the agency’s Board of Directors by working closely with its’ members on the vision for the agency’s future growth and success. This has included the development of an elaborate strategic plan as well as the implementation of investment strategies to grow the agency’s funds.

Prior to Big Brothers Big Sisters of Long Island, Mr. Cox worked as the Associate Director of Athletics for External Affairs at Hofstra University. He graduated from Hofstra University with a BBA in Marketing in 1992, and earned a Masters of Science and Education with distinction in 2001. Mr. Cox also played four years of football and lacrosse, and was recipient of the 1991 Iron Mike Award which is presented to the best collegiate football player on Long Island.

Mr. Cox is an active member of the Edward Smith Mineola Lion’s Club, Executive Business Association and Network Long Island. He resides in Westbury with his wife, Teri, and two children Kirstin and Tyler.

Leadership Team

Chief Financial Officer

Helen Liriano

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 224

hliriano@bbbsli.org

Director of Development

Meredith McCaslin

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 232

mmccaslin@bbbsli.org

Director of Services

Nancy Farrell Travers

(516) 731-7880 X218

ntravers@bbbsli.org

Director of Human Resources

Carmelina Vassallo

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 207

cvassallo@bbbsli.org

Managers

Senior Manager of Marketing & Public Relations

Amy Sledz-Sarin

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 222

asledz-sarin@bbbsli.org

Senior Manager of Quality Assurance

Josephine Todisco

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 220

jtodisco@bbbsli.org

External Program Relations Manager

Chuck Lott

clott@bbbsli.org

(631) 234-0000 x 201

Program Manager

Kelly McGowan

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 205

kmcgowan@bbbsli.org

Special Events Manager

Deanna Tropeano

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 214

dtropeano@bbbsli.org

Staff

Program Supervisor

Jacqueline Volpicella

jvolpicella@bbbsli.org

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 219

Case Manager

Alexa Altolaguirre 

aaltolaguirre@bbbsli.org

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 223

Case Manager

Amanda Jackman

ajackman@bbbsli.org

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 216

Case Manager

Jessica Kruger 

jkruger@bbbsli.org

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 231

Case Manager

Dena Spanos

dspanos@bbbsli.org

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 217

Case Manager

Laura Zaugg

lzaugg@bbbsli.org

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 229

Senior Enrollment Specialist

Gabriella Ramirez

gramirez@bbbsli.org

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 212

Enrollment Specialist

Maureen Araneo

maraneo@bbbsli.org

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 225

Enrollment Specialist

Alyssa Bloom

abloom@bbbsli.org

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 203

Enrollment Specialist

Jasmine Collazo

jcollazo@bbbsli.org

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 202

Enrollment Specialist

Jennifer Simmons

jsimmons@bbbsli.org

(631) 273-1469 Ext. 211

Recruitment Specialist

Michael Oliveri

moliveri@bbbsli.org

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 228

Program Assistant

Daniella Thompkins

dthompkins@bbbsli.org

(516) 731-7880 Ext. 227

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Long Island